Holly Johnson GalleryBack & Forth: Celebrating Women and our 15th Anniversary

Holly Johnson Gallery in Dallas is pleased to present Back & Forth: Celebrating Women. The exhibition commemorates the fifteenth anniversary of the gallery and celebrates the centennial of the 19th amendment.

Since its inauguration in April of 2005, the gallery has presented nearly 125 exhibitions by more than thirty artists from the region, the U.S. and abroad. The anniversary exhibition is about looking back in time as well as looking forward into the future — highlighting where we have been and where we are going.

Presenting sculpture, installation, paintings, drawings, and photographs, this exhibition highlights the varied creative practices and compelling artworks created by the distinguished women represented by the gallery and invites visitors to consider the centennial milestone in the context of a woman-owned business.

Artists in Back & Forth include Anna Bogatin Ott, Rebecca Carter, Theresa Chong, Dornith Doherty, Raphaëlle Goethals, Misty Keasler, Ana Esteve Llorens, Sharon Louden, Michelle Mackey, Kim Cadmus Owens, Margo Sawyer, Kim Squaglia, Gael Stack, Jackie Tileston, and Joan Winter.

Image: Back & Forth: Celebrating Women, Installation 2020 (Raphaëlle Goethals, Dornith Doherty, Jackie Tileston)


Holly Johnson and Jim Martin founded the Holly Johnson Gallery in 2005 in the Dallas Design District. The gallery represents contemporary artists from throughout the United States and abroad. The gallery features eight exhibitions per year, primarily one-person shows, by mid-career and internationally acclaimed artists. The gallery continues to refine and augment the careers of their artists while increasing the appreciation of their art. The gallery strives to educate and provide culturally significant experiences for all guests, whether collector, observer, or student.

Works by many of the gallery artists are included in the permanent collections of such institutions as the Museum of Modern Art, the Whitney Museum of American Art and the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Dallas Museum of Art, the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, the Austin Museum of Art, the San Antonio Museum of Art, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art and the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

Gallery artists include: John Adelman, Terry Allen, Stuart Arends, David Aylsworth, William Betts, Anna Bogatin Ott, James Buss, Todd Camplin, Rebecca Carter, Douglas Leon Cartmel, Theresa Chong, Eric Cruikshank, Matthew Cusick, Dornith Doherty, James Drake, Jacob El Hanani, Tommy Fitzpatrick, Christopher French, Raphaëlle Goethals, Virgil Grotfeldt, Geoff Hippenstiel, Dion Johnson, Sharon Louden, James Lumsden, Michelle Mackey, Antonio Murado, Dorothy Napangardi, Mike Osborne, Kim Cadmus Owens, Matt Rich, David Row, Margo Sawyer, Kim Squaglia, Gael Stack, William Steiger, Jackie Tileston, Randy Twaddle, Casey Williams, Joan Winter, and Michael Young.

Holly Johnson Gallery advises private and corporate collectors - making recommendations for an art collection’s enhancement and expansion as well as assist in the resale of works of art, provide fair and accurate advice on the market value of singular works of art or entire collections, and offer solutions for framing, conservation, and installation.